Skip to content

Our Team

Dr. David Pereyra

David Pereyra

The primary role as coordinator of “aha! Project” is to develop and maintain a community of expert advisors from the disability community who will collaborate in workshops, accessibility challenges and sensitivity training activities for small business employers in Ontario. These activities are as diverse as setting/learning policies, designing built environments, developing services, creating accessible workflow, and workshops.

Vera Roberts

Dr. Vera Roberts

Manager. Vera is Research Facilitator of the Inclusive Design Research Centre (IDRC) where she helps plan IDRC projects as well as plans and carries out iterative studies, evaluations and usability assessments for IDRC research and development projects or provides assistance to others in developing survey and assessment tools.

Rickee's profile photo

Rickee Charbonneau

Rickee Charbonneau is a Master’s student in the Inclusive Design program at OCAD University in Toronto. They are interested in studying how communities design, develop, fabricate, and share downloadable assistive technologies online. Rickee is currently working on a sustainable 3D printed dog wheelchair that can be adapted and personalized based on pet owner needs, by combining 3D printed support pieces with locally sourced materials. Rickee is the web designer for the project. They are also auditing the accessibility of small businesses’ websites, and providing detailed reports on how to improve their online customer service.

Sherly's Profile Photo

Sherly Thankappan

Sherly is a member of the aha! team currently working on facilitating Action Workshops.


Koni Tse

Koni is a member of the aha! team currently working on facilitating Action Workshops. He also manages the aha! social media such as our Twitter and Facebook pages.


Cathy He

Cathy is a member of the aha! team currently working on facilitating Action Workshops.


Francois Mifsud

Francois is a member of the aha! team currently working on facilitating Action Workshops.

David Lawson's profile photo

David Lawson

David Dyer Lawson received a Master of Design in Inclusive Design from OCAD University in 2015. To support this work, he received a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Joseph Bombardier Scholarship for 2014-2015. His research interests focus on the economics of accessibility/disability. He is working on commencing a doctoral program with Critical Disability Studies at York University. Building on his graduate research, the thesis of his PhD investigation will be that accessibility accommodation strategies would enhance corporate micro-economic return on investment (ROI).

David co-founded the Canadian Association of Inclusive Design Research (CAIDR) along with Jutta Treviranus and Dr. Sambhavi Chandrashekar. He has co-founded, and is co-editing, a monthly newsletter for CAIDR and is in the process of launching an academic journal, Inclusive Design Research. He wrote an introduction to the Parapan Am section of Shared Spaces, Celebrating the Toronto 2015 Pan Am / Parapan Am Games published by Antares Publishing in 2015. Currently, he is working on a project with the Inclusive Design Research Centre, OCADU. David Lawson co-published, along with Dr. Sambhavi Chandrashekar, Access And Inclusion for Global Solutions Networks.


Team of Experts

In the final part of the project, we plan to develop a seminar on customer service based on AODA standards to be delivered to BIAs in Toronto but would like the seminar framework and practical advice we deliver to stem from real experiences and deep understanding of what facilitates and constitutes accessible customer service and access.We are convening a team of experts such as you to help us with this goal. aha! was designed to increase the engagement and exchange of knowledge between small business employers and individuals with disabilities and we see you as contributing to this exchange in two ways over the next four months: 1) helping us to understand and co-develop the most useful content for the aha! seminar and 2) participating in one of the seminar sessions as a panelist.

  • Samantha Walsh

  • Christine Karcza

  • Tracy Schmitt

  • Daniella Levi Pinto

  • Adam Roy Cohoon

  • Luke Anderson

  • Tim Rose

  • John Willis

  • Elizabeth Mary Morris

  • Spirit Synott

  • Michael Walker

  • Teresa Chien

  • Nancy La Monica